Pink cars, beer mascots, ‘blokes’ and paints.

February 5, 2007

pinkcadillac.jpg

Pink isn’t just a fad making a comeback.

It is a deliciously seductive colour.  Tough guys wear pink and girls are enamoured with it.

It is cool to wear pink. Remember the advertisement where the Heineken Polar Bear mascot took a bubble bath and emerged with a pink rinse through his coat after his mates put some pink potion in it?  The advertising gurus wouldn’t lie to you. They were sending a clear message that to get the chicks, you have to be ‘man enough’ to wear  pink. So don’t be afraid to show your pink sensitivities.  

 

Guys can and have developed an affinity with the colour pink, even if its just a shirt or tie. The rock singer in Pink Floyd was reputed to have worn pink women’s leather jackets. People won’t think you are on acid if you wear pink. Just find a  shade that keeps you in your comfort zone. You don’t have to go around looking  like the energiser bunny.  

 

Controversy still rages as to whether early 20th century  magazines dictated that traditionally minded mothers dress their little boys in pink, and their little girls in the more ‘feminine’ blue. This was said to be the convention back then, which was reversed a few decades ago. 

 

We are surrounded by pink clothes, accessories, gadgets, cars and an abundance of shades of pink to choose from.

 

Which brings me to the issue of pink paints. 

 

 I must confess to having been a very confused woman with a can of pink paint. The toxicity of  paint fumes in my flat probably hasn’t helped, and could explain how I have arrived at the some of my present day beliefs. 

 

I am a true believer in mixing paints. One night, when suffering  pink insomnia, I jumped in my red car, and drove to the K mart  in Burwood, which has a large collection of  colour swatches. I selected the palest pink, a soft pearly pastel colour.

The assistant mixed it up for (or with me) with white, and on my return home in the early hours of the morning, started painting with a vengeance. My love affair  (or obsession) with pink paint had begun in earnest. I painted nearly everything in site insanely, jettisoning  many of my less successful projects. 

 

Fond of the softer cooler pink tones, I was very proud when I painted a formerly jet black hall stand a soft pink, put in on ebay, and watched the bidding frenzy, with the proceeds going to kitty bickies.

 

My pink escapades continued unabated. But my second pink painting experiment was hideous. I picked up a little jar of pink blush from a craft store and, brimming with my new found confidence, painted a couple of miniature what not stands. Despite about 10 listings on auction sites, to this day, they remain unsold, stashed away in the cupboard in case visitors see them.  I never thought I could do such a grave injustice to this glorious colour.

 

Which brings me to the colour of the pink cadillac and its appealing soft tone. 

Back in 1959 the original pink Eldo convertible tone wasn’t available through Cadillac. The advent of the popular ‘pink cadillac’ song led to the infamous 59 monogram Eldo convertible.

It  is still a winning colour in my opinion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

